

# Voting Instructions for the 2019 Governing Council Teaching Staff Election - Constituency IV

For purposes of Governing Council elections, "**Teaching Staff**" employees of the University who hold the academic rank of Professor; Associate Professor; Assistant Professor; Professor, Teaching Stream; Associate Professor, Teaching Stream; Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream; Lecturer and Senior Lecturer; Tutor and Senior Tutor; Assistant Professor (Conditional); Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream (Conditional); Sessional Lecturer I, Sessional Lecturer II, Sessional Lecturer III, Athletics Instructor and Senior Athletics Instructor but does not include any part-time lecturer who is registered as a student. For this purpose, "Lecturer" also includes Associates in the Faculty of Dentistry.

**Constituency IV includes** all Teaching Staff members who hold their major appointments in the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering.

Please read the instructions and the candidates' statements provided below before voting.

1. All Teaching Staff registered in the Human Resources Information System (HRIS) must vote on-line at the website listed below.

#### https://uoft.me/GC2019TSENGINEERING

- 2. Voting commences at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, February 4, 2019, and concludes on Friday, February 15, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.
- 3. You may vote for only one (1) candidate out of the three (3) candidates.
- 4. To access the on-line ballot, you must enter your personnel number and date of birth<sup>1</sup>.
- 5. Verification of your eligibility to vote in the Teaching Staff election will be determined by records provided by the HRIS.
- 6. Once the system has recognized you as a valid voter, you will be directed to the Teaching Staff ballot.
- 7. Once you have accessed the ballot, you MUST cast your vote. If you log-on and then exit the ballot without voting, you will not be able to re-access the ballot.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Please note that your personnel number and your vote are stored separately in order to protect confidentiality.

# Voting Instructions for the 2019 Governing Council Teaching Staff Election - Constituency IV (cont'd)

- 8. If you do not select a candidate, a warning message will inform you that a selection has not been made. If you choose to cast a blank vote, the ballot will be accepted as submitted.
- 9. After your vote is registered, you cannot access the ballot a second time.

#### Candidates' Statements

## Jun Nogami

As of July 2019, I will stepping down after having been Chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering for ten years. I have also served on UTFA council since 2008. In both capacities, I have learned a great deal about the concerns of the University community. I have also worked with both UTFA and the University to develop new policies. If I have the opportunity to serve on Governing Council, I hope that I will be able to contribute to the benefit of the University and its faculty, staff and students. https://mse.utoronto.ca/faculty-staff/professors/nogami/

## **Chirag Variawa**

Prof. Chirag Variawa is a proud alumnus of UofT Engineering with a B.A.Sc. (MSE0T9) and Ph.D. (MIE1T4). During his graduate studies, he was elected to Governing Council (representing over 6000 students), and served on the Executive Committee, Academic Appeals Board, Search Committee for the President, and Co-Chaired the University Affairs Board. After serving for two terms, he graduated and worked at a large university in Boston, in engineering, and became a teaching fellow. Now, in his third year as a UofT Engineering faculty member, he hopes to serve again to build inclusive community, foster accessible collaboration, and promote academic rigour.

https://news.engineering.utoronto.ca/tag/chirag-variawa/

#### **David Zingg**

David Zingg is in his 32nd year as a professor at the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies, where he was the Director from 2006-2016. His research areas include aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics, and aerodynamic shape optimization. He held a Canada Research Chair from 2001-2015, was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2004, was the 2009 University of Toronto Faculty Award recipient, received the McCurdy Award from the Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute in 2012, was awarded the 2016 J.J. Berry Smith Doctoral Supervision Award, and is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. URL: <a href="http://goldfinger.utias.utoronto.ca/dwz/">http://goldfinger.utias.utoronto.ca/dwz/</a>

If you are ready to vote, please click:

https://uoft.me/GC2019TSENGINEERING

Thank you for participating in this Governing Council Election