

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

## 2019 Governing Council Elections Teaching Staff Candidates' Statements

Voting Period: Monday, February 4, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. to Friday, February 15, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.

## **Teaching Staff – Constituency IV**

Jun Nogami	Chirag Variawa
As of July 2019, I will stepping down after having been Chair of	Prof. Chirag Variawa is a proud alumnus of UofT Engineering
the Department of Materials Science and Engineering for ten	with a B.A.Sc. (MSE0T9) and Ph.D. (MIE1T4). During his
years. I have also served on UTFA council since 2008. In both	graduate studies, he was elected to Governing Council
capacities, I have learned a great deal about the concerns of the	(representing over 6000 students), and served on the Executive
University community. I have also worked with both UTFA and	Committee, Academic Appeals Board, Search Committee for the
the University to develop new policies. If I have the opportunity	President, and Co-Chaired the University Affairs Board. After
to serve on Governing Council, I hope that I will be able to	serving for two terms, he graduated and worked at a large
contribute to the benefit of the University and its faculty, staff	university in Boston, in engineering, and became a teaching
and students.	fellow. Now, in his third year as a UofT Engineering faculty
https://mse.utoronto.ca/faculty-staff/professors/nogami/	member, he hopes to serve again to build inclusive community,
	foster accessible collaboration, and promote academic rigour.
	https://news.engineering.utoronto.ca/tag/chirag-variawa/

## 2019 Governing Council Election Teaching Staff – Constituency IV (Candidate Statements)

David Zingg

David Zingg is in his 32nd year as a professor at the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies, where he was the Director from 2006-2016. His research areas include aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics, and aerodynamic shape optimization. He held a Canada Research Chair from 2001-2015, was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2004, was the 2009 University of Toronto Faculty Award recipient, received the McCurdy Award from the Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute in 2012, was awarded the 2016 J.J. Berry Smith Doctoral Supervision Award, and is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. URL: <u>http://goldfinger.utias.utoronto.ca/dwz/</u>