

Voting Instructions for the 2016 Academic Board Election University of Toronto Mississauga Teaching Staff

For purposes of Academic Board elections, "**Teaching Staff**" means the employees of the University, University College, the Constituent Colleges and the arts and science faculties of the Federated Universities who hold the academic rank of professor, associate professor, assistant professor, full-time lecturer or part-time lecturer, unless such part-time lecturer is registered as a Student, or who hold any other rank created by the Governing Council and designated by it as an academic rank for the purposes of clause 1(1)(m) of the *University of Toronto Act*, 1971. For the purpose of Academic Board elections, lecturer includes the ranks of Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Tutor, and Senior Tutor. Lecturer also includes associates in the Faculty of Dentistry. Assistant Professor (conditional), Sessional Lecturer I, Sessional Lecturer II, Sessional Lecturer III, Athletics Instructor and Senior Athletics Instructor have been designated by the Governing Council as academic ranks for the purposes of clause 1(1)(m) of the *Act*.

This is an election for all Teaching Staff members who hold their major appointments at the University of Toronto Mississauga.

Please read the instructions and the candidates' statements provided below before voting.

1. All Teaching Staff registered in the Human Resources Information System (HRIS) must vote on-line at the website listed below.

http://uoft.me/2016AB-UTM

- 2. Voting commences at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, February 8, 2016, and concludes on Friday, February 19, 2016 at 5:00 p.m.
- 3. You may vote for only one (1) of the two (2) candidates.
- 4. To access the on-line ballot, you must enter your personnel number and date of birth ¹.
- 5. Verification of your eligibility to vote in the Teaching Staff election will be determined by records provided by the HRIS.
- 6. Once the system has recognized you as a valid voter, you will be directed to the Teaching Staff ballot.

¹ Please note that your personnel number and your vote are stored separately in order to protect confidentiality.

Voting Instructions for the 2016 Academic Board Election University of Toronto Mississauga Teaching Staff (cont'd)

- 7. Once you have accessed the ballot, you MUST cast your vote. If you log-on and then exit the ballot without voting, you will not be able to re-access the ballot.
- 8. If you do not select a candidate, a warning message will inform you that a selection has not been made. If you choose to cast a blank vote, the ballot will be accepted as submitted.
- 9. After your vote is registered, you cannot access the ballot a second time.

Candidates' Statements

Linda Kohn

UTM Faculty (1985); Full Professor (1995). Twenty years teaching 1st and 2nd year undergraduates; 30 years 3rd and 4th year, since 2013 utmONE Scholars course for top 1st year students (Science meets Society); UTM Teaching Excellence Award (1998); UofT Planning & Budget Committee (2014-2016), Academic Board (2013-2016); UTM Academic Appeals Committee (1998-2006); UTM Principal's Task Force – First Year Teaching (1996-1998). NSERC-funded research continuous from 1985; NSERC Grants Selection Committee (Co-Chair, 2002-2004); NSERC Banting/PDF Committee (2013-2015). Career award (2012), professional society (Mycological Society America). Fellow, American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), recognized for research, publications and graduate student training (2004).

Laura Taylor

As an Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream at the Robert Gillespie Academic Skills Centre (RGASC), I work mainly with our International and ELL populations. Because my role is not limited to one Department, it is important that I collaborate with faculty and students from a wide range of disciplines. As a member of the Academic Board, it would be my goal to provide objective input on matters pertaining to teaching, learning, and research as they relate to the UTM community as a whole.

If you are ready to vote, please click:

http://uoft.me/2016AB-UTM

Thank you for participating in this Academic Board Election