



Memorandum to: Governing Council

Members of the Academic Board Members of the Business Board

Members of the University Affairs Board Members of the Alumni Council of Presidents

Members of the College of Electors

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff

President, UTFA

Presidents of Employee Unions

Presidents of APUS, GSU, UTSU (SAC), UTMSU, and SCSU

President, University of Toronto Alumni Association

From: David Naylor, President

Date: May 14, 2012

Subject: Election of a Chancellor

I am pleased to announce that, at its meeting this evening, the Governing Council's Alumni College of Electors elected the Honourable Michael H. Wilson (B.Com. '59) to serve as the next Chancellor of the University of Toronto, effective July 1, 2012. He will be the University's 33rd Chancellor since its founding in 1827.

Please join me in welcoming Mr. Wilson to this new role.

Elected by the College for a three-year term, the Chancellor is the ceremonial head of the University, presiding at convocations, conferring all University degrees and acting as ambassador to the wider community and more than 500,000 graduates worldwide. The Chancellor also plays an essential role in advancing the University's interests within the local, provincial, national and international arenas.

Mr. Wilson's election follows a rigorous search process conducted by the University's College of Electors, which was established by the Governing Council in 1971. The College comprises members representing the constituent alumni associations of the University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) and is charged with the election of alumni governors and the Chancellor.

Françoise Ko, Chair of the College, has told me the College was especially pleased with the election of Mr. Wilson. He is a superb candidate who will serve with distinction as a leader of the broad community of the University's alumni and friends. Mr. Wilson has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the University of Toronto over many years. In 2005, the University conferred an honorary Doctor of Laws degree on him in recognition of his exemplary and long-standing volunteer leadership and outstanding community service. Mr. Wilson also served with distinction as Chancellor of Trinity College from 2003 to 2006.

Mr. Wilson is highly respected in a number of communities which have connections to and impact on the life of the University. He has dedicated his time in the pursuit of successful fund-raising for a number of community agencies and has been an active member of professional and community organizations including the NeuroScience Canada Partnership, The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, the Canadian Cancer Society, and the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance.

He has received a number of awards for his work in these fields as well as from The Conference Board of Canada, The Public Policy Forum, and The Rotman School of Business. A mental health advocate, Mr. Wilson was instrumental in establishing the Cameron Parker Holcombe Wilson Chair in Depression Studies at the University of Toronto. Mr. Wilson continues to provide voluntary leadership in the health sphere and was appointed by the Government of Canada to the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research. He was recently named the Vice-Chair.

Mr. Wilson was the 22nd Ambassador of Canada to the United States of America from 2006 to 2009. He was elected to the House of Commons in 1979 and, in September 1984, he was appointed Canada's Minister of Finance. Mr. Wilson remained in that position until May 1991. He then became Minister of Industry, Science, and Technology and Minister for International Trade. Apart from his career in public life, Mr. Wilson was an investment banker with various responsibilities in corporate, government, and international finance. He is currently serving as Chairman of Barclays Capital Canada.

Mr. Wilson was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2003 and was promoted to Companion of the Order of Canada in 2010.

Mr. Wilson succeeds The Honourable David R. Peterson, whose second term as Chancellor comes to an end as of June 30, 2012. At that time the Chancellor will have completed the maximum service length permitted by the *University of Toronto Act, 1971*. I want to take this opportunity to thank David for his tireless and truly exemplary work on behalf of the University over the past six years. I know it is deeply appreciated by the entire University community.