

Memorandum to:	Governing Council
	Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
	Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SAC (UTSU) and SCSU
From:	Rose M. Patten Chair, Task Force on Governance
Date:	January 9, 2008

Background and Context

At its meeting on October 23, 2008, the Governing Council approved the terms of reference for the next phases of work for its Task Force on Governance. Briefly, the Task Force has been asked to build on the work of Phase 1 which began in 2007 when the Governing Council approved the Terms of Reference for the *Towards 2030* Task Force on Governance. At that time, it defined a mandate that was to proceed in two phases. Phase 1 was to define gaps or deficiencies, as well as strengths, in our current system relative to enhancing our existing governance practices and taking into account the University's future directions. Completion of Phase 1 was to provide guidance to the Governing Council in its decisions for the next phase. Phase 2 is intended to recommend possible steps that could close the identified gaps, build on current strengths, and specify how that could be accomplished.

Task Force on Governance – Mandate and Request for Submissions

Mandate

Re:

The Task Force has now been asked to proceed with a review that comprises three components:

- refinements to practice;
- assessment of and revisions to delegations of authority, including terms of reference; and
- consideration of tri-campus governance.

The components are not necessarily intended to proceed in sequence but may move in parallel as appropriate. Guided by the detailed input it has received through Phase 1 and will continue to receive, the Task Force will define specific priorities for its attention within each broad component, taking into account those elements that could most reasonably be considered together.

Detailed terms of reference can be found at: http://www.governingcouncil.utoronto.ca/AssetFactory.aspx?did=5639

Membership

Membership of the Task Force is as follows:

Ms. Rose M. Patten – Chair (Former Chair, Governing Council)

Professor Vivek Goel – Vice-Chair (Founding President and CEO, Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion; Professor, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, Former Governor; Former Vice-President and Provost)

- Mr. P.C. Choo (Administrative Staff Governor; Member, Business Board and Elections Committee, former Member, Executive Committee)
- Professor Ray Cummins (Former Teaching Staff Governor and Chair, Academic Board)
- Dr. Claude Davis (LGIC Governor; Chair, University Affairs Board)
- Professor William Gough (Teaching Staff Governor; Member, University Affairs Board and Committee on Academic Policy and Programs; Associate Professor, Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences, University of Toronto at Scarborough, Graduate Department of Geography)
- Mr. Alex Kenjeev (Graduate Student Member, University Tribunal; Former Graduate Student Governor; Former Member, Academic Board and Business Board)
- Professor Michael Marrus (Teaching Staff Governor; Chair, Academic Board; Chancellor Rose and Ray Wolfe Professor Emeritus of Holocaust Studies)
- Mr. Stephen Smith (Alumnus Governor; Chair, Elections Committee; Member, Business Board and Senior Appointments and Compensation Committee;)
- Mr. W. David Wilson (LGIC Governor; Member, Business Board, Senior Appointments and Compensation Committee)
- Mr. Louis R. Charpentier Secretary

Reporting

Throughout the course of its work, the Task Force will provide interim reports or updates and, if appropriate, recommendations to the Governing Council through the Executive Committee. With the completion of its work, it will issue a final report and recommendations. The need, timing and focus of interim reports will be determined in consultation with the Chair and the Executive Committee of the Governing Council. A final report and recommendations are expected by June, 2010.

Submissions

The Task Force welcomes any further input. Submissions should be sent in confidence by January 30, 2008 to:

Secretary Task Force on Governance Room 106, Simcoe Hall University of Toronto

They may also be sent by e-mail to: <u>l.charpentier@utoronto.ca</u>.