



Memorandum to:

Governing Council Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff

President of UTFA

Presidents of Employee Unions

Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU (SAC)

From: Maureen Somerville

Chair, Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson

Date: January 29, 2013

RE: Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson

(a.) Review

(b.) Call for Submissions

(a.) Review

The Terms of Reference for the Office of the Ombudsperson (2010) state that "The Office of the Ombudsperson shall be reviewed on a regular basis."

Professor Emerita Joan E. Foley was appointed as University Ombudsperson for a three-year term from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2010 and re-appointed for a subsequent three-year term to June 30, 2013.

At its December 13, 2012 meeting, the Governing Council established a committee of members of the Governing Council to review the Office of the University Ombudsperson, with the following terms of reference:

- (a) to review the status and progress of the Office of the Ombudsperson in the light of the recommendations of the *Report of the Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson*, 2009-2010, approved by the Governing Council on January 21, 2010, in particular: the awareness of the Office by members of the University community across the three campuses; the communication of its services on the student portal and in electronic newsletters, as well as through vehicles maintained by the academic divisions;
- (b) to review the effectiveness of the operations of the Office of the Ombudsperson from July 1, 2010; and

(c) to make recommendations concerning the appointment of an Ombudsperson.

The membership of the review committee consists of the following members of the Governing Council:

- Alexis Archbold (Administrative staff governor)
- Aidan Fishman (Student governor)
- Gary Mooney (Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council governor)
- Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Teaching Staff governor)
- Maureen Somerville (Alumni governor, Chair)

Professor Angela Hildyard will serve as an administrative advisor. Ms Sheree Drummond, Deputy Secretary of the Governing Council will serve as Secretary to the Committee.

(b.) Call for Submissions

Members of the University are invited to submit their advice to the Committee on:

- the awareness of the Office by members of the University community across the three campuses;
- the communication of it services on the student portal and in electronic newsletters, as well as through vehicles maintained by the academic divisions;
- the effectiveness of the Office:
- the future directions and priorities appropriate for the Office.

The Terms of Reference of the Office can be viewed at http://www.utoronto.ca/ombudsperson/reports/termref.html

The most recent annual report of the Ombudsperson can be found at http://www.utoronto.ca/ombudsperson/reports/reports/AnnualReport_2011-12.pdf

Please send your written advice in confidence to Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson, by e-mail at sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca.

The deadline for submissions is **Tuesday**, **February 12**, **2013**.