

University of Toronto

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

MEMORANDUM

April 2, 2008

To: Governing Council

Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board

From: Nancy Smart, Chief Returning Officer

Subject: Governing Council and Academic Board elections results

CC: College of Electors

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs Professional/Managerial and Confidential Staff Association of Part-time Undergraduate Students

Graduate Students' Union

Scarborough Campus Students' Union University of Toronto Students' Union University of Toronto Faculty Association

United Steelworkers of America

University of Toronto Alumni Association

Governing Council Elections

Student voting ended on March 14, 2008. The deadline to appeal has passed and I am pleased to announce the following winners in their respective constituencies:

Graduate Students, Constituency I: Mr. Olivier Sorin Graduate Students, Constituency II: Mr. David Ford

Full-time Undergraduates, Arts and Science: Mr. Grant Gonzales & Ms. Anna Okorokov Full-time Undergraduates, Professional Faculties: Mr. Ryan Campbell & Mr. Joseph Koo

Part-time Undergraduates: Mr. Kenneth Davy

Ballots for the election of a **teaching staff** member in Governing Council **Constituency** II (teaching staff who hold their major appointments at the University of Toronto at Mississauga) have been verified and counted. Professor Varouj Aivazian received the greatest number of votes and is declared winner of the election.

The remaining Governing Council teaching staff seats were acclaimed.

For a detailed review of the election results, including the names of all candidates and the number of votes earned by each candidate, please see attached.

Academic Board Elections

Vacant teaching staff and librarian seats on Academic Board were filled by acclamation. For a complete list of the new members of Academic Board, please see attached.

Re-Opening Nominations for Governing Council

One Governing Council seat in the Part-time Undergraduate constituency remains vacant. **Nominations** for this seat **will re-open** from 12:00 noon on **Wednesday April 2, 2008 to** 5:00 pm on **Friday April 18**.

Please join me in congratulating and thanking all of the candidates who participated in this year's elections.

Governing Council Election Results: Students April 2, 2008

Graduate Students - Humanities/Social Sciences (Division 1 & 2)				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division	Elected	Number of	Total Eligible
	Affiliation		Votes per Candidate	Voters
Kenjeev, Alex	Social Science		197	
	(Management)			7058
Sorin, Olivier	Humanities (French)	E	287	

Graduate Students - Physical and Life Sciences (Division 3 & 4)				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation	Elected	Number of Votes per Candidate	Total Eligible Voters
Ford, David	Life Sciences (Medicine)	E	153	
Mansour, Nabil	Physical Sciences (Civil Engineering)		119	
Nguyen, Victoria	Life Sciences (Medicine)		46	(442
Perera, Sheron	Life Sciences (Medicine)		114	6442
Shao, Washington	Life Sciences (Medicine)		20	
Tokaryk, Kerry	Physical Sciences (Geology)		63	

Full-time Undergraduates - Arts & Science, UTM, UTSC, TYP				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division	Elected	Number of	Total Eligible
	Affiliation		Votes per Candidate	Voters
Andrews-Overell, Marcedes	UTM		632	
Cadmus, Maximilian	Woodsworth		805	
Darcovich, Anthony	Innis College		586	40914
Gonzales, Grant	St. Michael's College	E	836	40914
Okorokov, Anna	Woodsworth	E	854	
Sevi, Semra Eylul	University College		825	

Full-time Undergraduates - Professional Faculties				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division	Elected	Number of	Total Eligible
	Affiliation		Votes per Candidate	Voters
Campbell, Ryan	Engineering	E	327	
Koo, Joseph	Pharmacy	Acclaimed		
Weng, Yang	Engineering		219	12160
Yang, Huan Harvey	Engineering		116	
Yip, Lawrence	Engineering		73	

Part-time Undergraduates				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division	Elected	Number of	Total Eligible
	Affiliation		Votes per Candidate	Voters
Davy, Kenneth	Woodsworth	Acclaimed		6982

Governing Council and Academic Board Election Results: Teaching Staff April 2, 2008

Governing Council Election Results

Acclaimed Teaching Staff		
Candidate	Constituency	
Marrus, Michael	IB : All teaching staff members in the Faculty of Arts and	
	Science who hold their major appointments in the	
	Departments of Anthropology, Economics, Geography,	
	History, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology,	
	Sociology, and Centre for The Study of Religion	
Ripstein, Arthur	VII: All teaching staff members in the Faculty of	
	Architecture, Landscape, and Design, Rotman School of	
	Management, Faculty of Forestry, Faculty of Information	
	Studies, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Music and the Factor-	
	Inwentash Faculty of Social Work	
Smyth, Elizabeth	VIII: All teaching staff members in the Ontario Institute for	
	Studies in Education of the University of Toronto (OISE/UT)	

Elected Teaching Staff		
Candidate Constituency Elected		
Aivazian, Varouj II: All teaching staff who hold their major appointments at E		E
Koenig-Woodyard, Chris	the University of Toronto at Mississauga	

Academic Board Election Results

Acclaimed Teaching Staff		
Candidate	Constituency	
D'Eleuterio, Gabriele	Applied Science & Engineering (3-year term)	
Peng, Ito		
Quayson, Ato	Arts & Sciance (3 year term)	
Stevenson, Suzanne	Arts & Science (3-year term)	
Tafarodi, Romin		
Klassen, Pamela	Arts & Science (1-year term)	
Duff, Wendy	Information Studies (3-year term)	
Choudhry, Sujit	Law (3-year term)	
Berg, Katherine		
Belsham, Denise	Medicine (3-year term)	
Ringash, Jolie	Wedienie (3-year term)	
Sass-Kortsak, Andrea		
Angus, Jan	Nursing (3-year term)	
McDougall, Douglas	OISE/UT (3-year term)	
Beiner, Ronald	UTM (3-year term)	
Cupchik, Gerald	UTSC (3-year term)	
Bellamy, Patricia	Librarian (3-year term)	