Memorandum

To: Members of the UTSC Campus Community

From: Jan Jones, Deputy Returning Officer

Date: January 17, 2013

Re: Candidates for the 2013 Elections to the UTSC Campus Council and its Standing Committees

Please distribute this memorandum.

The nomination period for seats on the UTSC Campus Council and its Standing Committees closed on January 15th. Provided below is a list of candidates whose nominations have been verified, and information regarding whether or not elections will be required within each constituency. In some instances, it will be necessary to re-open the nomination period as no nominations were submitted during the first round. Please encourage your peers to consider contributing to UTSC governance by serving on one of these bodies.

2013-2014 UTSC Campus Council

Administrative Staff:

Sara Allain – Librarian – Bladen Library	No election required
Kathy Fellowes – Academic Advising & Career Centre	No election required*

*The UTSC Campus Council Terms of Reference provide for one seat for an Administrative Staff member who may be either a member of the Governing Council or a non-Governing Council member. The former is appointed to the UTSC Campus Council by the Governing Council. In the event that a Governing Council Administrative Staff member is not appointed to the UTSC Campus Council, then a non-Governing Council Administrative Staff member would be elected to serve. Election results will be announced on April 11, 2013, following the April 9th meeting of Governing Council.

Students:

Alyssa Moses – Full-time Undergraduate	Not required to participate in elections
Hussain Masoom – Graduate	Not required to participate in elections

The UTSC Campus Council Terms of Reference provide for one seat for a Governing Council Student member. The Governing Council may appoint one Student governor to the UTSC Campus Council. In such an instance, the distribution of the remaining student seats on the UTSC Campus Council will be

determined by the estate of the Student governor appointed by the Governing Council. Election results will be announced on April 11, 2013, following the April 9th meeting of Governing Council.

Nominations will re-open at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 21, 2013 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2013 for **up to one** Full-time Undergraduate Student and **up to one** Part-time Undergraduate Student members of the UTSC Campus Council.

Teaching Staff:

Johann Bayer – Physical & Environ. Sciences	Not required to participate in elections
Suzanne Erb – Psychology	Not required to participate in elections
Brian Harrington – Computer & Math. Sciences	Not required to participate in elections

The UTSC Campus Council Terms of Reference provide seats for six Teaching Staff representatives on the UTSC Campus Council, up to two of whom may be members of the Governing Council. The precise number of elected, non-governor Teaching Staff seats will be determined by the number of Governing Council Teaching Staff appointed to the UTSC Campus Council.

Nominations will re-open at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 21, 2013 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2013 for **up to two** Teaching Staff members of the UTSC Campus Council. For non-Governing Council Teaching Staff, no academic unit may have more than one representative.

2013-2014 UTSC Academic Affairs Committee

Administrative Staff:

Hanan Domloge - Psychology	No election required

Librarian:

Paulina Rousseau – Bladen Library No election required
--

Students:

Aryan Ganji – Full-time Undergraduate	Election required
Charmaine Ramirez – Full-time Undergraduate	Election required
Lindsay Raoufi – Full-time Undergraduate	Election required
Tisha Tan – Full-time Undergraduate	Election required
Jessica Yip – Full-time Undergraduate	Election required
Andrew Leung – Graduate	Election required

There are nine Student member seats on the UTSC Academic Affairs Committee. As indicated in the Election Guidelines 2013, they are distributed among five Full-time Undergraduate, two Part-time Undergraduate, and two Graduate Students. The Governing Council and the UTSC Campus Council

may appoint up to two students to the Academic Affairs Committee. In such an instance, the distribution of the student constituencies on the Academic Affairs Committee will be determined by the estate of the Student governor and the Student member appointed by the UTSC Campus Council.

Nominations will re-open at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 21, 2013 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2013 for **up to two** Part-time Undergraduate Students and **up to one** Graduate Student members of the Academic Affairs Committee.

Teaching Staff:

Johann Bayer – Physical & Environ. Sciences	Not required to participate in elections
Nick Cheng – Computer & Math. Sciences	Not required to participate in elections
Matthew Hoffmann – Political Sciences	Not required to participate in elections

Nominations will re-open at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 21, 2013 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2013 for **twelve** Teaching Staff members of the Academic Affairs Committee. There will be no more than one Teaching Staff representative from each academic unit at UTSC.

2013-2014 UTSC Campus Affairs Committee

Administrative Staff:

Erin Bradford – Health & Wellness	Not required to participate in elections
Tony Rupnaraine – Biological Sciences	Not required to participate in elections

There are four Administrative Staff seats on the UTSC Campus Affairs Committee. Three of the four seats are for elected, non-Campus Council members. No academic or administrative unit may have more than one Administrative Staff member on the Campus Affairs Committee.

Nominations will re-open at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 21, 2013 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2013 for **up to one** Administrative Staff member of the Campus Affairs Committee.

Librarians:

Sarah Fedko – Bladen Library	No election required
------------------------------	----------------------

Students:

Hivin Alarashi – Full-time Undergraduate	Not required to participate in elections
Kevin Ramlal – Full-time Undergraduate	Not required to participate in elections

There are seven Student member seats on the UTSC Campus Affairs Committee. They are allocated to **four** Full-time Undergraduate, **one** Part-time Undergraduate, and **two** Graduate Students. The

Governing Council and the UTSC Campus Council may appoint up to one Student member to the Campus Affairs Committee. In such an instance, the distribution of the student constituencies on the Campus Affairs Committee will be determined by the estate of the Student member appointed by the Governing Council and UTSC Campus Council.

Nominations will re-open at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 21, 2013 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2013 for **up to three** Full-time Undergraduate, **up to one** Part-time Undergraduate, and **up to one** Graduate Student members of the Campus Affairs Committee.

Teaching Staff:

Johann Bayer – Physical & Environ. Sciences	Not required to participate in elections

There are seven elected Teaching Staff members on the UTSC Campus Affairs Committee.

Nominations will re-open at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 21, 2013 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 25, 2013 for **six** Teaching Staff members of the Campus Affairs Committee. There will be no more than one Teaching Staff representative from each academic unit at UTSC.