## CONSTITUTION OF ERINDALE COLLEGE COUNCIL (University of Toronto Mississauga)

- 1. The Council of Erindale College (also known as the University of Toronto at Mississauga (UTM)) hereafter referred to as "the Council", exercises its powers and duties under the University of Toronto Act, 1971, as amended. These powers and duties shall be to:
  - Develop policy regarding the academic affairs of UTM, subject to the approval of such policy, where approval is required by the Governing Council of the University of Toronto;
  - (b) Make rules and regulations for governing the proceedings of Council, including the quorum necessary for conducting business;
  - (c) Determine the composition and powers of the Council subject to the provisions of the University of Toronto Act, 1971, as amended, and to the approval of Governing Council;
  - (d) Determine the numbers, composition and authority of the committees of the Council;
  - (e) Award scholarships, bursaries, prizes and other awards in the gift of UTM;
  - (f) Make recommendations to the Vice-President and Principal, UTM, on any matters of concern to the Council;
  - (g) Ratify any amendments, changes or deletions to the Constitutions or By-laws of all organizations operating as UTM student societies, provided that such amendments, changes or deletions are initiated only by these student societies, approved by their respective Councils and approved by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 2. Elected and appointed members, with the exception of full-time undergraduate students who shall serve a term of one year, shall serve a term of two years, where possible. When necessary, elections to the Council shall be held in September and the results shall be brought to the Council for ratification at its first meeting after the election. The new Council shall assume office immediately following said meeting.
- 3. The membership of the Council shall consist of the following voting members:

The President, University of Toronto (ex officio) The Vice-President and Provost, University of Toronto (ex officio) The Vice-President and Principal of UTM The Vice-Principals of UTM The Deans of UTM The Chief Administrative Officer of UTM The Chief Administrative Officer of UTM The Chief Librarian of UTM All members of the teaching staff holding their major appointment at UTM All professional librarians at UTM The heads of the Administrative Departments of UTM 10 members of the administrative staff elected by and from the administrative staff of UTM The President of the University of Toronto Mississauga Association of Graduate Students (UTMAGS)

4 graduate students appointed by UTMAGS

- 2 post-doctoral fellows or research associates to be appointed by the Vice-Principal, Research
- 2 members of the Alumni of UTM (who are not members of the teaching staff, administrative staff, or students of UTM) appointed by the UTM Alumni Association (UofTMAA)
- 2 members of the Associates of the University of Toronto Mississauga appointed by the Associates of the University of Toronto Mississauga
- Up to 5 retired members of the UTM teaching staff appointed by the Vice-President and Principal

In the undergraduate student category, 75 Council seats are to be made available, and filled by the following criteria:

- (a) 14 are to be elected from part-time undergraduate students;
- (b) 50 are to be elected from the full-time undergraduate students, all of whom must be full-time students;
- (c) The President of the Erindale Part-time Undergraduate Students (EPUS)
- (d) The President of the Erindale College Student Union (operating as the University of Toronto at Mississauga Students' Union, UTMSU) and up to 9 elected members of the ECSU Board of Directors
- 4. The Council shall meet at least two times per term in each of the fall and spring terms. A special meeting may be called by the Chair of the Council, or the Vice-President and Principal, UTM, or upon the written request of 25 members of the Council, and shall be convened within 14 days to consider matters requiring attention. Notice of the date and agenda of such meetings shall be given at least seven days prior to a meeting.
- 5. A member of Council, elected by the Council, shall preside as Chair. The tenure of office of Chair shall be two years, subject to re-election. Council shall also elect a Vice-Chair. The Chair and Vice-Chair of Council may serve a maximum of two consecutive two-year terms.
- 6. The Secretary of the Council shall be appointed as a non-voting, ex-officio member by the Vice-President and Principal, UTM, in consultation with the Chair of the Council, to act as the Secretary of all Council and Standing Committee meetings.
- 7. Meetings of the Council and the Committees of Council shall be open, except as otherwise provided in the By-laws approved by the Council.
- 8. At least seven days' prior notice of the dates and agenda of the Council meetings shall be given to all members of the Council and to the UTM community. Decisions of the Council shall be published in such manner, as the Council, by By-law, shall determine.
- 9. The Council shall pass By-laws regulating the exercise of its powers and responsibilities and governing the calling and conduct of its meetings. By-laws and resolutions of the Council shall be published by the Council in such a manner as it may consider fit and they shall be open to examination by all members of UTM during normal business hours.

- 10. The Council may appoint such standing and special committees as it may require in the conduct of its business and the fulfilment of its resolutions.
- 11. On approval by two-thirds of the voting members present at any meeting, the Council may recommend an amendment to its Constitution to the Governing Council of the University of Toronto. Fourteen days' notice of any proposed amendment shall be given to the College Council.
- 12. Revision:

This Constitution was revised on April 14, 2009 by Erindale College Council.