UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

Thursday November 13, 2003

MINUTES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL meeting held on Thursday, November 13, 2003 at 8:30 a.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Dr. Thomas Simpson (In the Chair) Ms Rose M. Patten, Vice-Chair

Professor Robert J. Birgeneau, President

Mr. Muhammad Basil Ahmad Mr. Sachin K. Aggarwal

Dr. Robert M. Bennett Professor Philip H. Byer

Mr. Bruce G. Cameron Professor John R. G. Challis

Professor John R. G. Challis Professor Brian Corman

Mr. Brian Davis Dr. Claude S. Davis

Dr. Alice Dong

Ms Françoise D. E. Ko

Ms Karen Lewis

Professor Ian R. McDonald

Dr. John P. Nestor

Professor Shirley Neuman Mr. Chris Ramsaroop

Mr. Amir Shalaby

Professor Jake J. Thiessen

Mr. Adam Watson

Mr. Robert S. Weiss

Non-Voting Member:

Mr. Louis R. Charpentier

Secretariat:

Mr. Neil Dobbs Ms Cristina Oke

Absent:

Professor Mary Beattie Ms Murphy Browne Professor Pamela Catton

Professor W. Raymond Cummins The Honourable William G. Davis

Dr. Inez N. Elliston Ms Susan Eng

Dr. Shari Graham Fell Mr. Mike Foderick

Dr. Paul V. Godfrey Dr. Gerald Halbert

Ms Shirley Hoy

Professor David J.A. Jenkins Professor Michael R. Marrus

Mr. George E. Myhal Ms Jacqueline C. Orange Mr. John F. (Jack) Petch

The Honourable David R. Peterson The Honourable Vivienne Poy

Mr. Timothy Reid

Professor Arthur S. Ripstein

Dr. Joseph L. Rotman Dr. Susan M. Scace

Professor Barbara Sherwood Lollar

Professor John Wedge

In Attendance:

Dr. Beata FitzPatrick, Assistant Vice-President and Director, Office of the President

PURSUANT TO SECTION 44 OF *BY-LAW NUMBER 2*, THE FOLLOWING RECOMMENDATION WAS CONSIDERED BY THE GOVERNING COUNCIL *IN CAMERA*.

1. Senior Appointment – Vice-President, Government and Institutional Relations

On motion duly moved and seconded,

It was RESOLVED

THAT Professor Carolyn Tuohy be appointed as Vice-President, Government and Institutional Relations of the University of Toronto, for the term February 1, 2004 to June 30, 2006.

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL MOVED TO OPEN SESSION.

The Chair announced that the Council during its *in camera* session had approved the appointment of Professor Carolyn Tuohy as Vice-President, Government and Institutional Relations.

Professor Tuohy was escorted into the Council Chamber, and invited by the Chair to address the Council.

Professor Tuohy thanked members for giving her the opportunity of serving the University in this portfolio. She referred to the recent changes in municipal, provincial and federal government: the election of a new mayor for the City of Toronto on November 10, 2003, the election of a new leader of the federal Liberal Party on November 14, 2003, and the new provincial legislature that would begin sitting on November 19, 2003. She believed that all three levels of government were fundamentally sympathetic to the cause of post-secondary education.

Professor Tuohy also reminded members that the University was at the beginning of a new cycle of academic planning. It was important to explain to the provincial government how the University of Toronto's goals related to provincial goals. It was also important to maintain the appropriate balance of partnership and autonomy in this dialogue, and she believed that the University was well positioned to do so.

Professor Tuohy stated that she was committed to working with all the senior administrative portfolios, as well as with Principals and Deans and with members of the Governing Council. In conclusion, she again expressed her thanks to members for the extraordinary opportunity represented by her appointment to the portfolio of Government and Institutional Relations.

	The meeting adjourned at 8:55 a.m.	
Secretary	Chair	
November 18 2003		