

Memorandum to:

Governing Council
Academic Board
Business Board
University Affairs Board
University of Toronto Mississauga Campus Council
University of Toronto Scarborough Campus Council
College of Electors
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff
President of UTFA
Presidents of Employee Unions
University of Toronto Alumni Association, Board of Directors
Presidents of APUS, GSU, UTSU (SAC), UTMSU and SCSU

From: Meric Gertler, President

Date: March 17, 2015

Re: Honorary Degrees – 2015 Recipients and Call for Nominations for 2016

2015 Honorary Degree Recipients

I am pleased to advise you that the Governing Council has approved that the following individuals be awarded an honorary degree from the University of Toronto to be conferred in 2015 (or 2016):

Arnold Aberman Alfred Aho Mark Carney Jan Gehl Abigail (Abby) Hoffman Maria Klawe Graça Machel Bob McDonald Frank McKenna Chantal Petitclerc Sir Richard Peto Paul Volcker

More information about the 2015 recipients is available at <u>http://news.utoronto.ca/machel-</u>roberto-benigni-paul-volcker-among-those-receive-honorary-degrees-u-t.

Call for Nominations for 2016

The Committee for Honorary Degrees welcomes nominations for honorary degrees to be awarded in 2016. We would like to encourage interest and participation in this important process, and urge you and your colleagues to submit nominations for exceptional individuals.

By awarding honorary degrees, the University of Toronto seeks to recognize extraordinary achievement, in Canada or abroad, in community, national or international involvement, and to honour those individuals whose accomplishments are of such excellence that they provide, through example, inspiration and leadership to the graduates of the University. Their esteem should be such that, by virtue of accepting an honorary degree, their presence will bring honour and distinction to the University of Toronto.

The Committee attempts, through its recommendation of nominees, to reflect the national character of Canada, the desirable features of its regional and cultural diversity, and the character and diversity of the University itself. As such, it is necessary for the Committee to have a diverse pool of candidates so that it may consider diversity in all of its dimensions.

Please see the <u>Committee for Honorary Degrees web page</u> for nomination instructions, nomination forms (fillable PDF), as well as additional information about the process.

Please take the time, either on your own or in consultation with your colleagues, to submit one or more nominations. Nominations submitted by more than one person are welcome; however, a single individual should serve as the lead nominator. The lead nominator will serve as the main point of contact for the nomination and should be able to provide supplementary information about the nominee as requested.

In preparing submissions, nominators should pay particular attention to the statement of reasons for the nomination, and ensure that they provide sufficiently thorough information for the consideration of the Committee.

Nominations are welcome at any time; however, the Committee requests that they be received <u>no</u> later than September 18, 2015.

Please submit completed forms (electronic format preferred) to the attention of:

Ms Sheree Drummond Secretary, Committee for Honorary Degrees Office of the Governing Council Simcoe Hall, Room 106 27 King's College Circle Toronto, Ontario M5S 1A1 <u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u>

Please contact the Secretary to the Committee for Honorary Degrees if you have any questions.

Thank you in advance for your contribution to this important process.