

TO:	Governing Council
	Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
	Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTSU and UTMSU
	President of UTAA
FROM:	Mr. Jeff Collins
	Chair, Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson
DATE:	November 14, 2014
RE:	Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson (a.) Review
	(b.) Call for Submissions and Nominations

(a.) Review

The *Terms of Reference for the Office of the Ombudsperson* (2010) state that "The Office of the Ombudsperson shall be reviewed on a regular basis."

Professor Emeritus Joan E. Foley was appointed as University Ombudsperson for a three-year term from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2010. She was subsequently re-appointed for a three-year term to June 30, 2013 and again for a two-year term to June 30, 2015.

At its October 30, 2014 meeting, the Governing Council established a committee of members of the Governing Council to review the Office of the University Ombudsperson, with the following terms of reference:

- (a) to review the status and progress of the Office of the Ombudsperson in the light of the recommendations of the *Report of the Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson, 2012-2013*, approved by the Governing Council on April 9, 2013, in particular: the effectiveness of the operations of the Office of the University Ombudsperson; the awareness of the Office by members of the University community across the three campuses; and, the communication of its services;
- (b) to make recommendations concerning the appointment of an Ombudsperson.

The membership of the Review Committee consists of the following members of the Governing Council:

- Alexis Archbold (Administrative staff governor)
- Ben Coleman (Student governor)
- Jeff Collins (Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council governor), Chair

- Harvey Botting (Alumni governor)
- Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Teaching Staff governor)

Professor Angela Hildyard will serve as an administrative advisor. Ms Sheree Drummond, Deputy Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as Secretary to the Committee.

(b.) Call for Submissions and Nominations

Members of the University are invited to submit their advice to the Committee on:

- the effectiveness of the Office of the University Ombudsperson;
- the awareness of the Office by members of the University community across the three campuses;
- the communication of it services; and,
- the future directions and priorities appropriate for the Office.

In addition, nominations for the University Ombudsperson are also welcome. Advice and/or nominations can be submitted in confidence via the on-line form at https://uoftgc.wufoo.com/forms/committee-to-review-the-university-ombudsperson/.

The deadline for submissions is Friday, December 19, 2014.

For reference, the Terms of Reference of the Office can be viewed at <u>http://ombudsperson.utoronto.ca/reports/termref.html</u> and the most recent annual report of the Ombudsperson can be found at <u>http://uoft.me/OmbudsReport2013-14</u>.

Questions can be directed to Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Committee to Review the Office of the University Ombudsperson, at <u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u> or 416-978-8425.