## OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

To:	Faculty, Staff, Students and Alumni, University of Toronto Mississauga
	Governing Council
	Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	UTM Campus Council
	UTSC Campus Council
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
	Professional and Managerial Staff
	Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President
	Professor Trevor Young, Vice-President and Provost
Date:	January 31, 2025
Re:	Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga

UNIVERSITY OF

On May 14, 2020, the Governing Council approved the <u>appointment of Professor Alexandra</u> <u>Gillespie</u> as Vice-President, University of Toronto and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga, for a five-year term effective July 1, 2020, to December 31, 2025 (including a six-month administrative leave). Professor Gillespie is eligible for reappointment.

Following a <u>call for nominations</u>, we are pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee, which we will co-chair, is as follows:

- Professor Jennifer Adese, Canada Research Chair in Métis Women, Politics, and Community and Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, UTM
- Professor Joshua Barker, Vice-Provost, Graduate Research & Education and Dean, School of Graduate Studies
- Professor Lisa Dolovich, Professor and Dean, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy

- Professor Alison Freeland, Associate Dean, Mississauga Campus, Temerty Faculty of Medicine and Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
- Professor Tanjim Hossain, Chair and Professor of Marketing, Department of Management, UTM
- Ms Christina Kakaflikas, Director, Economic Development, City of Mississauga
- Mr. Albert Pan, Undergraduate Student, Life Sciences, UTM and UTM Campus Affairs Committee member
- Ms Amanda Pautler, Interim Executive Director, Public Affairs, Office of Communications, UTM
- Mr. Dany Savard, Chief Librarian, UTM
- Ms Nasha Sethna, PhD Student, Biology, UTM and UTM Campus Council member
- Professor Sarah Sharma, Professor & Director, Institute of Communication, Culture, Information and Technology, UTM
- Professor Steven M. Short, Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Biology, UTM
- Ms Fatima Ul-Haq, Director, Health System Strategy, Design and Engagement, Ontario Health Toronto, and President of the UTM Alumni Association Board of Directors
- Professor Daniel Wright, Associate Professor, Department of English and Drama and Interim Associate Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation Strategic Initiatives
- Professor Christopher Yip, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering and Professor, Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, and Institute of Biomedical Engineering
- Dr. Nadina Jamison, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the President (non-voting, *ex officio*)

Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as secretary to the Committee.

The Advisory Committee's first task will be to undertake a review and advise us on the Office of the Vice-President and Principal, UTM, and on priorities that should be considered for the Vice-President. Given that Professor Gillespie is eligible to be re-appointed, the Committee will also consider whether to recommend her re-appointment.

The Advisory Committee welcomes comments and advice. These should be submitted using the <u>confidential online form</u> by **5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 21, 2025**. Responses will be confidential to the Committee.

Questions should be directed to the Secretary at <a href="mailto:should-be">should be directed to the Secretary at <a href="mailto:s