David Naylor

David Naylor (MD 7T8) is Professor of Medicine and President Emeritus at the University of Toronto. He served as President from 2005 to 2013 and previously as Dean of Medicine (1999-2005), founding Director of Clinical Epidemiology (1990-96) at Sunnybrook Health Science Centre, and founding Chief Executive Officer of the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (1991-98).

Professor Naylor is the co-author of approximately 300 scholarly publications, spanning epidemiology and biostatistics, public policy, social history, and health economics, as well as clinical and health services research in most fields of medicine.

Professor Naylor has been engaged with public policy-making for three decades. He served two terms as an inaugural governor (2000-04) during the establishment of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). In 2003 he chaired Canada's national review of public health after the SARS outbreak. The resulting report catalyzed the creation of the Public Health Agency of Canada and appointment of Canada’s first Chief Public Health Officer. In 2009-10, he was a member of the influential Global Commission on the Education of Health Professionals for the 21st Century funded by the Rockefeller and Gates Foundations. In 2014-15 he chaired Canada's federal Advisory Panel on Healthcare Innovation. Most recently (2016-17) Professor Naylor chaired a federal panel reviewing the state of extramural research in Canada. The Government of Canada responded in 2017-18 with significant policy shifts and a 5-year plan for major increases in research funding.

David Naylor has received national and international awards for leadership in medicine, public policy, and research. He is an inductee of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, an international member of the US Academy of Medicine, and an Officer of the Order of Canada.