#### **UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO**

#### **COLLEGE OF ELECTORS**

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Thursday, March 10, 2011 at 4:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present.

Dr. Françoise Ko (In the Chair)

Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, Vice-Chair (SGS)

Mr. Doug Allen (Architecture, Landscape, and Design)

Dr. Alexandra Berezowskyj (Medicine)

Ms Sadia Butt (Forestry)

Dr. Vic Chiasson (Innis)

Ms Tiffany Chow(Engineering)

Dr. Zoë Coull (SGS)

Ms L. Diane Dyer (Victoria)

Ms Sue Graham-Nutter (Scarborough)

Mr. Aran Hamilton (Rotman) Mr. Norm Hann (Engineering)

Rev. David Harrison (SGS)

Mr. Craig Hegins (New)

Ms Erica Henderson (University)

Ms Victoria Hurlihey (University)

Dr. Sema Kenan (OISE)

**Regrets:** 

Ms Carol Bisnath (Mississauga)

Dr. Pauline Blendick (OISE)

Mr. Corwin Cambray (SGS)

Ms Celeste Francis (Woodsworth)

Mr. Scott MacKendrick (Engineering)

Ms Sadia Mahmood (Public Health)

Dr. Claire Mallette (Nursing)

Mr. Jason Marin (New)

Mr. Paul Morrison (Law)

Mr. Peter Murchison (Social Work)

Ms Florence Newman (Victoria)

Ms Linda Prytula (Pharmacy)

Mr. Devin S. Ragwen (Scarborough)

Mr. John Richardson (Victoria)

Professor Peter Russell (Trinity)

Ms Barbara Salmon (Physiotherapy &

Occupational Therapy)

Mr. Al Smith (Mississauga)

Dr. Valerie Stavro (Dentistry)

Ms Ann Sullivan (St. Michael's)

Mr. Todd Will (OISE)

Ms Susan O Wilson (Music)

Ms Natalie Yeadon (Mississauga)

Ms Diane Luty (Woodsworth)

Mr. Michael Meth (Information)

Ms Paula Paunic (Physical Education and

Health)

Ms Anne Venton (OISE)

Mr. Jason Wong (University)

Secretary: Ms Mae-Yu Tan

The College met *in camera* to consider items 4, 5, and 6.

## 1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – February 23, 2011

The minutes of the meeting of February 23, 2011 were approved.

### 2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the previous meeting.

#### 3. Review of Interview Procedures

The Chair reviewed the general interview procedures and outlined suggested scoring procedures to be followed during the interview. The Chair also reviewed the desired skills and attributes, which had been previously identified by the Vice-Chair of the Governing Council, which members should consider during the candidate interviews.

On motion duly moved and seconded, the College moved *in camera* to interview the candidates.

#### 4. Interviews of the Candidates

The College interviewed the candidates for alumni governors.

#### 5. Discussion of the Candidates

The College had a full discussion of each of the candidates.

## 6. Election of the Alumni Members of the Governing Council

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were elected.

Mr. Donald E. Andrew - term from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012; Bachelor of Applied Science, University of Toronto, 1954.

Ms Celina Rayonne Caesar-Chavannes - term from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014; Bachelor of Science, University of Toronto (New College), 1998; Master of Business Administration, University of Phoenix, 2005.

Mr. Keith Thomas - term effective immediately to June 30, 2014; Bachelor of Applied Science, University of Toronto, 1987; Master of Arts, University of Toronto, 1989; Master of Business Administration, Columbia University, 1994.

Ms B. Elizabeth Vosburgh - term from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014; Bachelor of Arts, University of Toronto (Victoria College), 1968; Master of Business Administration, McMaster University, 1976.

The College returned to open session.

## 7. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair informed members that the next regularly scheduled meeting of the College would be held on Tuesday, May 10, 2011, from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m. As well, an information session on the proposed revisions to the College's constitution would be held on Tuesday, March 29, 2011, from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m.

# 8. Other Business

The Chair thanked member	ers for their time and their contributions to the deliberations that evening.
	The meeting adjourned at 9:18 p.m.
Secretary April 21, 2011	Chair