### COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, March 26, 2007 at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. Paul Cadario (In the Chair) Mr. Michael Branch (Engineering)

Ms Rebecca Bush (UC)

Ms Ruhee Chaudhry (Community Health)

Ms Ann Clarke (Scarborough)
Professor Mary Condon (SGS)
Mr. Chris Driscoll (St. Michael's)
Dr. Inez Elliston (OISE/UT)
Mr. Pierre François (OISE/UT)
Dr. Martin Kosoy (Medicine)
Mr. Garry Kwan (Mississauga)

Ms Joan London (Woodsworth) Ms Pamela McPherson (Victoria) Mr. Lennox Phillips (Mississauga) Dr. Betty Power (OISE/UT)

Mr. Gordon Shantz (Mississauga)

Mr. Raymond Shyr (UC) Ms Maureen Simpson (Trinity)

Mr. Hubert Stitt (Law) Mr. Colin Swift (New) Ms Liz Terry (OISE/UT) Dr. Ben Venditti (Dentistry)

**Regrets:** 

Mr. Robert Awrey (PE&H)

Ms Noreen Calderbank (Engineering) Mr. David Collins (St. Michael's)

Mr. Jason Dehni (UC)

Ms Bernice Frieday (Woodsworth)
Ms Helen Hart (Scarborough)
Professor Shashi Kant (Forestry)

Ms Arbelle Manicat-Emo (Nursing) Mr. Anthony McNamee (Social Work)

Ms Jolie Phillips (Engineering) Ms Nancy Sutherland (Victoria) Ms Maria Topalovich (Music) Mr. Rajesh Uttamchandani (SGS)

Secretariat: Ms Cristina Oke, Secretary

Ms Mae-Yu Tan

### 1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – March 5, 2007

The minutes of the meeting of March 5, 2007 were approved.

### 2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the previous meeting.

### 3. Review of the Voting Process and Procedures

The Chair reviewed the voting procedures, reminding members that, in order to vote, they had to be present for all the interviews.

On motion duly moved and seconded, the College moved *in camera* to interview the candidates.

# 4. Interviews of Candidates and Election

The College interviewed the candidates for alumni governors.

### 4. Interviews of Candidates and Election (cont'd)

The Chair reminded members of the required skills of alumni governors that had been identified by the Chair of Governing Council at the December 2006 meeting:

- Understanding of the mission of the University of Toronto.
- Awareness of issues facing the University of Toronto.
- Demonstrated involvement and connections to the internal and external communities of the University.
- Knowledge and understanding of postsecondary education.
- Knowledge and experience of the external communities whose support is critical to the University, including governments, alumni groups, and the University's broad range of stakeholders
- Knowledge of and experience in strategic communications.
- Experience with major change.
- Interest in and knowledge of the student experience.

The following alumni were elected for a three-year term on the Governing Council, beginning July 1, 2007:

- Dr. Stefan Larsen;
- Mr. Stephen Smith;
- Miss Maureen Somerville.

The following alumnus was elected to the Governing Council for a term effective immediately, until June 30, 2009, to replace Mr. John Badowski, who had resigned from the Council:

• Mr. Larry Wasser

The College returned to open session.

# 5. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair informed members that the next meeting of the College would be held in the fall. Members would be advised as soon as the 2007-08 meeting schedule of the College had been set.

#### 6. Other Business

### a) Membership of the College of Electors for 2007-08

The Chair advised members that the Secretary of the College would be working with staff in alumni affairs and divisional alumni association representatives to ensure that the membership of the College of Electors was complete for 2007-08.

## b) Nominations for 2007-08 Executive Committee

The Chair reminded members that, at the first meeting of the year, Ms Joan London, Ms Arbelle Manicat-Emo and Mr. Hubert Still had volunteered to sit on the Nominating Committee to recommend the appointment of the 2007-08 Executive Committee of the College. He invited continuing members who would like to be considered for membership on the Executive Committee in 2007-08 to advise the Secretary of their interest, and noted that information about the nomination process would be distributed to members before the end of June.

Dr. Martin Kosov volunteered to sit on the Nominating Committee.

## c) Chair's Closing Remarks

The Chair thanked the members of the Executive Committee for their work this past year:

Ms Maureen Simpson, Vice Chair

Mr. Mike Branch

Ms Arbelle Manicat-Emo

Dr. Betty Power

The Chair also acknowledged those members whose terms were ending on June 30, 2007:

Mr. Robert Awrey - Physical Education and Health

Ms Rebecca Bush - University College

Mr. David Collins – St. Michael's

Ms Helen Hart – University of Toronto at Scarborough

Professor Shashi Kant – Forestry

Dr. Martin Kosoy - Medicine

Ms Joan London – Woodsworth

Ms Arbelle Manicat-Emo - Nursing

Ms Jolie Phillips – Engineering

Mr. Raymond Shyr – University College

Mr. Hubert Stitt - Law

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 p.m.

May 24, 2007