# **COLLEGE OF ELECTORS**

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, March 5, 2007 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. Paul Cadario (In the Chair) Ms Rebecca Bush (UC) Ms Ann Clarke (Scarborough) Ms Ruhee Chaudhry (Community Health) Professor Mary Condon (SGS) Dr. Inez Elliston (OISE/UT) Mr. Pierre François (OISE/UT) Ms Bernice Frieday (Woodsworth) Dr. Martin Kosoy (Medicine) Mr. Garry Kwan (Mississauga) Ms Joan London (Woodsworth) Ms Arbelle Manicat-Emo (Nursing) Mr. Anthony McNamee (Social Work)

# **Regrets:**

Mr. Robert Awrey (PE&H) Mr. Michael Branch (Engineering) Ms Noreen Calderbank (Engineering) Mr. David Collins (St. Michael's)

Secretariat: Ms Cristina Oke, Secretary Ms Mae-Yu Tan Ms Pamela McPherson (Victoria) Mr. Lennox Phillips (Mississauga) Dr. Betty Power (OISE/UT) Mr. Gordon Shantz (Mississauga) Mr. Raymond Shyr (UC) Ms Maureen Simpson (Trinity) Mr. Hubert Stitt (Law) Ms Nancy Sutherland (Victoria) Mr. Colin Swift (New) Ms Liz Terry (OISE/UT) Ms Maria Topalovich (Music) Mr. Rajesh Uttamchandani (SGS) Dr. Ben Venditti (Dentistry)

Mr. Jason Dehni (UC) Mr. Chris Driscoll (St. Michael's) Ms Helen Hart (Scarborough) Professor Shashi Kant (Forestry) Ms Jolie Phillips (Engineering)

The Chair welcomed the new members of the College: Ms Ruhee Chaudhry (Community Health), Professor Mary Condon (SGS), Mr. Jason Dehni (UC), Mr. Chris Driscoll (St. Michael's), and Mr. Rajesh Uttamchandani (SGS). Members introduced themselves.

# 1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – December 18, 2006

The Chair noted that a correction in attendance had been made to the minutes that had been circulated. The minutes of the meeting of December 18, 2006 were approved as corrected.

# 2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the previous meeting.

# **3.** Discussion of Procedures for Interviews for Alumni Governors including the Set Questions

## (a) **Procedures**

The Chair reminded members that they would be electing three individuals to serve three-year terms on the Governing Council, effective July 1, 2007, as well as electing in a by-election one individual to serve a term effective immediately upon election and continuing until June 30, 2009, to complete the term of Mr. John Badowski who had resigned from the Governing Council. He reviewed the procedures for interviewing the candidates.

## 3. Discussion of Procedures for Interviews for Alumni Governors including the Set **Questions** (cont'd)

### **(b) Set Questions**

Members discussed the set questions to be used in 2007.

### 4. Overview of Required Skills identified by the Chair of the Governing Council

The Chair reviewed the required skills of alumni governors that had been identified by the Chair of Governing Council at the December 2006 meeting:

- deep and broad expertise of post-secondary education system;
- knowledge and experience in the areas of government and community relations;
- knowledge and expertise in strategic communications: •
- experience in adjusting and adapting to major change and the challenges that come with change.

A member asked for clarification regarding the difference between 'communication' and 'strategic communication'. The Chair replied that 'strategic communication' involved the tailoring of a message to an audience in order to focus attention on the message and harness the energy of the audience to accomplish a particular goal.

On motion duly moved and seconded, the College moved in camera to discuss the candidates.

## 5. **Discussion of Nominations Received**

The College agreed that the candidates who had been nominated were suitable and possessed the skills identified by the Chair of the Governing Council as being necessary for the Council in the coming year.

The first interview would be held at 6:00 p.m. The Chair reminded members that to be eligible to vote, a member must be present for all interviews in their entirety.

The College returned to open session.

## 6. **Date of Next Meeting**

March 26, 2006 Meeting to interview candidates for alumni governor.

It was agreed that the meeting would start at 5:30 p.m., rather than at 5:00 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

2

March 7, 2006