#### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

#### THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

## REPORT NUMBER 205 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

# **September 23, 2014**

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, September 23, 2014, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Chair)

Professor John Bland (Vice-Chair)

Professor Richard Hegele

Professor Ron Levi Professor Sioban Nelson Professor Cheryl Regehr Professor Elizabeth M. Smyth Professor Steven J. Thorpe

Anwar Kazimi, Secretary

Regrets: Mr. Michael Singh

In Attendance: Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the

Vice-President and Provost

Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

#### 1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the first meeting of the Committee for 2014-2015. She then provided an overview of the responsibilities and procedures of the Committee.

# 2. Electronic Approvals

The Chair noted that following the Committee's previous meeting, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider several academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. She read the resolutions of July 22, 2014 and September 5, 2014.

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments

## JOHN H. DANIELS FACULTY OF ARCHITECTURE, LANDSCAPE, AND DESIGN

Professor Stephen Verderber Associate Dean, Research

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2017

FACULTY OF LAW

Professor Ben Alarie Associate Dean, First Year J.D. Program

July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015

(extension)

Professor Edward Iacobucci Associate Dean, Research

July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015

(extension)

**FACULTY OF MEDICINE** 

Professor G. Harvey Anderson Acting Chair

Department of Nutritional Sciences August 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015

(while Chair is on approved administrative leave)

## ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT

Professor Kenneth Corts Associate Dean, Undergraduate

July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2019

(renewal)

## 2. Electronic Approvals (cont'd)

# JOHN H. DANIELS FACULTY OF ARCHITECTURE, LANDSCAPE, AND DESIGN

Professor Robert Levit Associate Dean, Academic

July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017

#### FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Brenda McCabe Acting Dean

January 1, 2015 to March 31, 2015

(while Dean is on 3-month administrative leave)

## **FACULTY OF MEDICINE**

Professor Molyn Leszcz Interim Chair

Department of Psychiatry

October 1, 2014 to September 30, 2015

(or until a new Chair is appointed, whichever is

first)

## LESLIE DAN FACULTY OF PHARMACY

Professor Christine Allen Associate Dean, Graduate Education

July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015

#### 3. 2014-2015 Calendar of Business

The Committee reviewed the 2013-2014 Calendar of Business for the Agenda Committee.

#### 4. Academic Board

# 4a) 2013-2014 Academic Board Evaluation Survey

The Chair provided a summary of members' feedback on the Academic Board Evaluation Survey that had been completed in June, 2014. Members agreed the Chair should comment briefly on the survey in her opening remarks at the meeting.

## 4b) 2014-2015 Calendar of Business and Strategic Governance Topics

The Committee reviewed the 2014-2015 Calendar of Business for the Academic Board and agreed on the proposed strategic governance topics that would be presented to the Board over the course of the year.

## 4c) Orientation

Members agreed to include the Orientation with the main agenda of the meeting.

# 4d) Review and Approval of Agenda – Thursday, October 3, 2013

The Committee reviewed and approved the draft agenda for the October 2rd Board meeting. Members reviewed the Orientation and the topics that were to be covered under this item. It was noted that the background documents on governance principles and the Academic Board would be made available to the members along with the material for this meeting.

The Chair advised the Committee that the President, Professor Meric Gertler, President, would address the Board on his "Three Priorities" and this would be followed by a discussion with the Board

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted.

# **5. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting:** Report Number 204 – June 24, 2014

Report Number 204 of the meeting held on June 24, 2014 was approved.

#### 6. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from Report Number 204.

## 7. Date of Next Meeting – Wednesday, November 4, 2014, 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.

#### 8. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved *in camera*.

# 9. Appointments: 2014-15 Striking Committee

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following members of the Academic Board be appointed to the 2013-2014 Striking Committee of the Academic Board for a term from September 23, 2014 to June 30, 2015.

Ms Alexis Archbold, administrative staff member Mr. Ken Chan, alumni staff member Ms Alena Zelinka, student

# 10. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

#### **FACULTY OF MEDICINE**

Professor Steffen-Sebastian Bolz Interim Chair

Department of Physiology

October 1, 2014 to February 28, 2015

# ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION (OISE)

Professor Lana Stermac Interim Associate Dean

Research, International & Innovations October 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015

# 10. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

# SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Michael Bagby Graduate Chair

Graduate Department of Psychological Clinical

Science

September 1, 2014 to June 30, 2019

## DALLA LANA SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Professor Daniel Sellen Associate Dean, Research

October 1, 2014 to August 31, 2017

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Secretary Chair

September 23, 2014