#### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

#### THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

#### REPORT NUMBER 214 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

May 21, 2015

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Thursday, May 21, 2015, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

**Present:** Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Chair)

Professor John S. Bland (Vice-Chair)

Professor Richard Hegele

Professor Richard Hegele
Professor Ron Levi
Professor Sioban Nelson
Professor Cheryl Regehr
Professor Elizabeth M. Smyth

Professor Elizabeth M. Smyth Professor Steven J. Thorpe

Anwar Kazimi, Secretary

**Regrets:** Mr. Michael Singh

The Chair said that because of time constraints, two items – the 2014-15 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and Academic Administrative Appointments - had been approved by the Agenda Committee by electronic ballot since the previous meeting on April 14. The Chair read the resolutions of April 22, 2015 and May 11, 2015.

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following membership of the 2014-15 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal

- Professor Edward Iacobucci, Chair and President's designate
- Professor Benjamin Alarie, current teaching staff member of the Academic Board
- Mr. Peng Fu, former alumni member of the Academic Board
- Ms Jennifer Raso, former student member of the Academic Board

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments

### FACULTY OF KINESIOLOGY & PHYSICAL EDUCATION

Professor Michael Atkinson Acting Vice-Dean

July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016

## **FACULTY OF ARTS & SCIENCE**

Professor Charlie Keil Principal

Innis College

July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2020

Professor Yves Roberge Principal

New College

July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2018

[renewal]

Professor Scott Schieman Chair

Department of Sociology June 1, 2015 - June 30, 2020

## UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz Interim Vice-Principal, Research

June 1, 2015 - October 31, 2015

#### 1. Academic Board

The Agenda for Monday, June 1, 2015 was reviewed and approved.

# 2. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting:

Report number 213, from the meeting of Tuesday, April 14, 2015 was approved.

## 3. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the report of the previous meeting.

# 4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair informed members that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, June 9, 2015 from 3:00 - 4:00 p.m.

#### 5. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

#### IN CAMERA SESSION

# **6.** Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly made, seconded and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

#### FOR INFORMATION

#### FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Cristina Amon Dean

July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2017

[Revision of End Date]

## FOR APPROVAL

## FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Bryan Karney Assoc. Dean, Cross-Disciplinary Programs

July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016

[Extension]

#### SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Martin Pickavé Graduate Chair

Department of Philosophy July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2021

### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Professor Angela Lange Chair

Department of Biology

July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2018

Report Number 214 of the Agenda Committee – May, 21, 2015 UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor Michael Lambek	Chair Department of Anthropology July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2020 [Renewal]
Professor William Gough	Vice-Dean, Faculty July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2020
Professor Mark Schmuckler	Vice-Dean, Undergraduate July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2020 [Renewal]
Lynn Tucker, Senior Lecturer	Acting Chair Department of Arts, Culture and Media July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016
Professor Greg Vanlerberghe	Acting Chair Department of Biological Sciences July 1, 2015 – December 31, 2015
The Committee returned to closed	session.
	The meeting adjourned at 3:55p.m.
Secretary	Chair
May 22, 2015	