UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 187 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

December 18, 2012

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, December 18, 2012, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair)

Dr. Avrum Gotlieb Professor Hugh Gunz Professor Alison Keith Professor Doug McDougall Professor Cheryl Misak

Ms Judith Poë*

Professor Cheryl Regehr

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Katharine Ball

In Attendance: Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the

Vice-President and Provost

Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

*participated by vidoeconference

CONSENT AGENDA

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted.

1. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting: Report Number 186

– November 8, 2012

Report Number 186 of the meeting held on November 8, 2012 was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from Report Number 186.

3. Date of Next Meeting – Tuesday, January 29, 2013, 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.

4. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved in camera.

5. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE & JOSEPH L. ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT

Mr. Dragan Stojanovic Acting Director, Commerce Program

January 1 to June 30, 2013

(while Director is on approved leave)

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Jay Pratt Chair, Department of Psychology

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2019 [renewal]

(five-year term; includes approved administrative leave)

Professor Susanne Ferber Acting Chair, Department of Psychology

January 1 to June 30, 2013

(while Chair is seconded to the Office of Vice-President

and Provost) and

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(while Chair is on approved administrative leave)

Professor Kimberly Strong Director, School of the Environment

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2019

(five year term; includes one year approved leave)

5. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

LESLIE DAN FACULTY OF PHARMACY

Dr. Ian Crandall Interim Associate Dean, Academic January 1, 2013 to Dec 31, 2013

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Brent Sleep Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Civil Engineering

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2018

Professor Brenda McCabe Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Civil Engineering

January 1, 2013 to June 30, 2013 [extension]

Professor Bryan Karney Associate Dean, Cross-Disciplinary Programs

January 1, 2013 to June 30, 2015 [extension]

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Lynn Wilson Chair, Department of Family and Community Medicine

January 1, 2013 to September 30, 2018 [renewal]

Professor Avrum I. Gotlieb Interim Vice-Dean, Graduate and Life Sciences Education

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2014

(or until such time as a Vice-Dean is appointed)

Chair

The Committee returned to closed session.

The Chair wished members all the best during the holiday season.

Secretary

January 4, 2013