UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 191 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

May 24, 2013

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Friday, May 24, 2013, at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair)

Dr. Avrum Gotlieb Professor Hugh Gunz Professor Alison Keith Professor Doug McDougall Professor Cheryl Misak

Ms Judith Poë

Professor Cheryl Regehr Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Ms Katharine Ball

In Attendance: Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the

Vice-President and Provost

Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

1. Approvals by Electronic Ballot

The Chair noted that, following the previous meeting, the Committee had considered two academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. She read the resolutions of May 7, 2013 into the record.

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

JOSEPH L. ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT

Professor Peter Pauly Interim Dean

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014, or until the

appointment of a new Dean, whichever comes first

Professor Joel A.C. Baum Associate Dean, Faculty

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2018 [renewal]

2. Academic Board

a) Evaluation Form

The Committee agreed that feedback from Academic Board members about Board meetings should continue to be solicited using an online evaluation form. It was decided that no changes to the form were needed. An email would be sent to Board members inviting them to complete the form, and results would be compiled and reported at the first Board meeting in the fall. During consideration of the form, members discussed the content and length of introductions to agenda items provided at Board meetings. It was agreed that, while many Board members read the meeting documentation in advance of meetings, it was helpful for a brief highlight of each proposal and a summary of any discussion that had taken place at meetings of the Board's Standing Committees to be provided at Board meetings. Board members would then be better able to provide further input on the agenda items.

b) Review and Approval of Agenda – Monday, June 3, 2013

Members discussed the agenda items for the June 3, 2013 Board meeting. Given the full agenda and the particular importance of a number of the items, it was decided that the planned presentation on University rankings would be postponed until the fall. During discussion of one of the agenda items, the Jospeh L. Rotman School of Management Council Constitution, some members inquired about consultation regarding the tri-campus Graduate Department of Management (GDM) and the planned GDM Council. Professor Misak replied that discussions on that matter had occurred over a number of years, with much consultation. At present, the Rotman School had authority solely over its programs, not over tri-campus graduate programs. Dr. Harrison added that the scope of the Rotman School's authority had been made explicit in the proposed revised constitution. The Committee approved the agenda.

CONSENT AGENDA

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted.

3. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting: Report Number 190 – April 23, 2013

Report Number 190 of the meeting held on April 23, 2013 was approved.

4. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from Report Number 190.

5. Date of Next Meeting – Tuesday, June 11, 2013, 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.

6. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved *in camera*.

7. Appointments: 2013-2014 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and the Academic Appeals Committee

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following individuals be appointed to the 2013-2014 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and the Academic Appeals Committee for a term from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014.

Professor Mayo Moran, Chair and President's designate Mr. Peng Fu, alumni member of the Academic Board Professor Edward Iacobucci, teaching staff member of the Governing Council Ms Maria Wei, student member of the University Tribunal

8. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Kelly Hannah-Moffat Director

Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2017

(includes a one-year approved leave)

Professor Elizabeth Legge Chair

Department of Art

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2017 (renewal) (includes one year approved leave)

8. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE (cont'd)

Professor Markus Stock Chair and Graduate Chair

Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2019

(includes a one-year approved leave)

FACULTY OF DENTISTRY

Professor Grace Bradley Associate Dean, Biological and Diagnostic Sciences

September 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(extension)

Professor Jim Y. Lai Interim Associate Dean, Clinical Sciences

September 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(extension)

Professor Ernest Lam Acting Associate Dean, Graduate and Postgraduate Studies

September 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(while current Associate Dean serves in another role)

Professor Morris Manolson Interim Associate Dean, Research

September 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Elizabeth Rochon Interim Chair and Interim Graduate Chair

Department of Speech-Language Pathology

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(or until a new Chair is appointed, whichever comes first)

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Stephen Julian Chair

Graduate Department of Physics July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2018

Professor Sheldon Lin Acting Chair

Graduate Department of Statistical Sciences

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(while the current Graduate Chair is on approved leave)

8. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES (cont'd)

Professor Kumar Murty Chair

Graduate Department of Mathematics July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2017 (renewal)

(a three-year term over four years; includes a one-year

approved leave)

Professor Paul Stevens Acting Chair

Graduate Department of English July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(while the current Graduate Chair is on approved leave)

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Professor Hugh Gunz Director

Institute for Management and Innovation

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2015

Professor Bryan Stewart Vice-Principal, Research

July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2016

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor Alice Maurice Acting Chair, Department of English

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014

(while the current Chair is on approved leave)

Professor Mark Schmuckler Vice-Dean, Undergraduate

July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2015

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Secretary	Chair	
May 24, 2013		