UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 124 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

February 8, 2006

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Wednesday, February 8, 2006, at 2:00 p.m. in the Falconer Room, Room 102, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor W. Raymond Cummins (In the Chair)
	Professor Brian Corman, Vice-Chair
	Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
	Professor Avrum Gotlieb, Chair, Planning and Budget Committee
	Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic
	Professor Ronald Kluger
	Professor Mariel O'Neill-Karch
	Professor J.J. Berry Smith, Chair, Committee on Academic Policy and
	Programs

Ms C. Oke, Secretary

Regrets: Mr. Blake Chapman

In Attendance: Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, Office of the Vice-President and Provost Mr. Henry T. Mulhall, Special Projects Officer, Office of the Governing Council

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 123 dated December 13, 2005 was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report

(a) Implementation of the Revised Approval Process for Academic Administrative Appointments

Members discussed the implementation of the revised approval process for academic administrative appointments. It was agreed that academic administrative appointments would normally be considered at regularly scheduled meetings of the Agenda Committee. Every effort would be made to distribute documentation for the appointments in advance of the meeting. If the appointment was time-sensitive, a special meeting of the Agenda Committee could be called, following the provisions for notice of special meetings set out in By-Law Number 2 of the Governing Council.¹

¹ Section 14 of By-Law Number 2 states that notice of the time and place of a special meeting shall be given by the Secretary to each member and to the public not less than one clear day before the day on which the meeting is to be held. The day of giving notice and the day of the meeting shall not be counted when computing the clear days.

(i)

The Provost, or designate, chaired the search committee for the appointments of Principals and Deans, and could therefore provide information about the process and respond to any questions raised by the Committee.

(ii) Vice-Principals, Vice-Deans, Chairs, Directors

It was noted that the majority of academic administrative appointments were for the positions of Vice-Principal, Vice-Dean, Chair and Director. Searches for these positions were conducted by the divisions, and the search committees were chaired by the Dean or Principal. For these appointments, members would receive the reporting letter from the Dean or Principal, the membership of the search committee, and the cv of the successful candidate. Members would be invited to notify the Provost in advance of the meeting of any questions that they had concerning the appointment.

3. Academic Board Agenda – February 16, 2006

The members discussed the agenda for the February 16, 2006 meeting. It was agreed that, as part of the Report of the Vice-President and Provost, the Vice-President, Research and Associate Provost would be invited to provide an update to the Board on the review of research policies that was currently underway.

4. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair noted that the next meeting was scheduled for Friday, March 10, 2006 at 2:00 p.m.

5. Other Business

The following resolution was read to record the appointment that had been made in December 2005 under the provisions of the expedited approval process for academic administrative appointments that had been approved in September 1998 for use in exceptional circumstances. In the expedited process, the appointment was approved by the Agenda Committee after the recommendation had been circulated for comment to members of the Board.

On motion duly moved and seconded

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

That Professor Cheryl Regehr be appointed as Interim Dean of the Faculty of Social Work, effective January 1, 2006 until December 31, 2006 or until a permanent Dean is named.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

February 14, 2006